Snow-covered Sierra Blanca Peak seen from the Ski Apache gondola
Ski Apache gondola view, 2019 Jonathan Cutrer · Commons · CC BY 2.0

South-Central New Mexico

Ski Apache

Ski Apache is a Mescalero Apache Tribe-owned and operated mountain near Alto, with 1,900 feet of vertical, more than 750 acres, and an intermediate-heavy trail mix served by 11 lifts.

Jonathan Cutrer · Wikimedia Commons · CC BY 2.0
Base elevation
9,600 ft
Skiable acres
750+
Trails
55
Lifts
11
Summit
11,400 ft
Vertical
1,900 ft
Nearest town
Alto

Why is Ski Apache closed?

Almost always because of the calendar rather than an incident. Ski Apache is a seasonal ski area whose official FAQ describes a typical late-November to late-March window, so for most of the year the lifts are not scheduled to run at all.

The recent record is narrower than that description suggests, and it is the part worth checking. The 2025–26 winter opened on November 29, 2025 with a Saturday-and-Sunday schedule announced, weather permitting, and the resort closed in March 2026 without confirming an exact date in its published material. Summer 2026 operations ran weekends only, and the resort did not state a reason for that either. As of the July 21, 2026 source check no 2026–27 dates had been announced, although season passes were already on sale.

For a specific day, the daily operating report is the only answer. A mid-season closure at this mountain is normally weather, snow coverage or lift status, and none of those can be predicted from a season calendar. Two things are worth ruling out because searches for this question often reach for them: the tramway question belongs to Sandia Peak, a different mountain entirely, and the South Fork and Salt Fires of June 2024 were followed by phased reopenings later that month, with no 2026 recovery restrictions posted in the official material reviewed for this guide.

The mountain

Ski Apache’s official figures put the base at 9,600 feet, the mountain summit at 11,400 feet, and the gondola top at 11,500 feet. The area has 1,900 feet of vertical and more than 750 acres. Its 55 trails break down as 20% beginner, 60% intermediate, and 20% expert, making the intermediate share the clearest feature of the terrain mix.

Eleven lifts include an eight-passenger gondola, which the resort describes as New Mexico’s only gondola of that capacity. Ski Apache’s history page also says the mountain installed North America’s first mono-cable four-passenger gondola in 1962. Those facts establish a long gondola history without saying how often a particular lift will operate; the daily report remains the authority for lift status.

The Mescalero Apache Tribe owns and operates Ski Apache, as it does the Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort and Casino and other reservation-based enterprises. The resort opened at Christmas 1961 as Sierra Blanca Ski Resort, was sold to the Mescalero Apache Tribe two years later, and has been tribally owned and operated since 1963. It took the Ski Apache name for the 1984–85 season. The resort’s own page describes Sierra Blanca as a 12,000-foot peak sacred to the Mescalero people; that official framing stands on its own and is not generalized into a tourism theme.

Ski Apache: base and summit compared with 8,000 ft
Base
9,600 ft
Summit
11,400 ft

Elevation difference: 1,800 ft.

Data: resort statistics as cited on this page. CDC notes altitude illness can occur around 8,000 ft and sometimes lower.

Checked .

Getting there

The resort address is 1286 Ski Run Road in Alto, the closest town. Official pages place it about 17 miles from Ruidoso and give estimates ranging from 30 to 40 minutes. The resort’s longer-distance table lists Albuquerque at 190 miles and about three hours, El Paso at 154 miles and about two hours 50 minutes, Santa Fe at 198 miles and about three hours 30 minutes, and Las Cruces at 133 miles and about two hours 38 minutes. It does not publish an official Alamogordo distance, so none is estimated here.

Access is by NM-532, also called Ski Run Road. Ski Apache describes it as a paved and maintained mountain road with steep grades, sharp curves, and elevation changes. Its winter driving guidance advises winter tires, carrying snow chains, keeping at least half a tank of fuel, and checking NMDOT or NMRoads before the climb.

Those are preparation instructions, not a statement that the road is difficult or restricted every day. Conditions can change over the route’s elevation gain. The same-day state road report and resort operating update should decide departure timing, with the published drive table used only as a baseline.

Where Ski Apache sits in New Mexico

Ski Apache

Planning location: 33.397°, -105.799°. Confirm the entrance and current access before traveling.

Open the location map ↗

Coordinate: Wikipedia: Ski Apache

Checked .

Season & conditions

For 2025–26, Ski Apache opened November 29, 2025 and announced a Saturday-and-Sunday schedule from 9 a.m. to 3:45 p.m., weather permitting. The resort closed in March 2026, but an exact closing date is not confirmed in the checked official material. The official FAQ says the season typically ends in late March.

No 2026–27 dates had been announced by July 21, 2026, even though season passes were on sale. The resort FAQ describes its usual window as late November through late March. “Usual” does not establish a date or a seven-day operating schedule, so the current calendar needs to be checked once the mountain announces one.

Ski Apache reports average annual snowfall of more than 15 feet and says enhanced snowmaking reaches all the way to the summit. It also identifies a TechnoAlpin Snowfactory unit as one of only two in the United States. Another owner-related site publishes a different percentage-based snowmaking statement; because the two descriptions do not reconcile, this guide uses the ski area’s own summit-reaching language and does not state a coverage percentage.

Ski Apache operating window, as run
2025-26 season
– Opened 2025-11-29. Closed in March; the exact closing date is unconfirmed, so that end is approximate.

Dates from the resort as recorded in this guide

Checked .

Know before you go

The high base makes acclimatization relevant, while the road guidance makes vehicle preparation part of the day. Build enough time for the NM-532 climb, carry the winter equipment the resort specifies, and confirm which lifts and services are scheduled. The official material in the fact set does not publish parking, lesson, or rental procedures detailed enough for this guide to summarize, so those arrangements should be checked directly with Ski Apache.

The Mescalero Apache Tribe also owns and operates the Inn of the Mountain Gods, establishing an official lodging relationship between the two properties. That shared ownership does not imply that lodging includes mountain access or transportation; no such package or shuttle claim is made here.

The South Fork and Salt Fires began on June 17, 2024 on the Mescalero Apache Reservation and spread into Ruidoso. Ski Apache closed summer operations during the fire and phased reopenings followed by late June 2024. As of the July 21, 2026 source check, no 2026 recovery restrictions were posted in the official material reviewed for this guide, so it does not infer lingering damage or limitations. Summer 2026 operations were weekend-only, but the resort did not state that fire recovery or staffing was the reason. Winter visitors should rely on current resort and tribal notices rather than assumptions based on the 2024 event.

How Ski Apache classifies its terrain
Beginner
20%
Intermediate
60%
Advanced and expert
20%

Data: the resort’s own published terrain breakdown

Checked .

Questions before you go

Who owns and operates Ski Apache?

The Mescalero Apache Tribe has owned and operated Ski Apache since 1963. The Tribe also owns and operates the Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort and Casino and other reservation-based enterprises.

What is the road to Ski Apache like?

NM-532, or Ski Run Road, is paved and maintained, but the resort describes steep grades, sharp curves, and elevation changes. It advises winter tires, carrying chains, keeping at least half a tank of fuel, and checking NMDOT or NMRoads.

When will Ski Apache open for 2026–27?

No opening date had been announced as of July 21, 2026. The official FAQ describes a typical late-November through late-March season, but actual dates and operating days remain weather-dependent.

Does Ski Apache make snow to the summit?

Ski Apache's mountain-information page says enhanced snowmaking reaches all the way to the summit. A separate owner-related site gives a different coverage figure, so this guide does not combine the two claims or state a percentage.

Is Ski Apache the southernmost ski area in New Mexico?

No. Ski Cloudcroft is farther south. Ski Apache is accurately described as one of the southernmost major ski resorts in the United States; the resort's own marketing uses a broader claim.

Why is Ski Apache closed?

Ski Apache is a seasonal ski area, so most of the year it is closed by the calendar rather than by an incident. Its 2025–26 winter opened November 29, 2025 on an announced Saturday-and-Sunday schedule, weather permitting, and ended in March 2026. Summer 2026 operations were weekend-only, and the resort did not state a reason. No 2026–27 dates had been announced as of July 21, 2026. Mid-season closures are normally weather or lift status, so the daily operating report is the answer for any specific day.

What was the old name of Ski Apache?

Sierra Blanca Ski Resort. It opened at Christmas 1961 under that name, was sold to the Mescalero Apache Tribe two years later, and has been tribally owned and operated since 1963. It took the Ski Apache name for the 1984–85 season.

Is Ski Apache a good ski resort?

This guide does not rank resorts, so here is what its own figures say. Ski Apache has more than 750 acres, 1,900 feet of vertical and 55 trails, split 20% beginner, 60% intermediate and 20% expert. That intermediate share is the largest on the New Mexico roster, which suits a group that wants to ski together on cruising terrain rather than split up. Eleven lifts include an eight-passenger gondola. Against that, the season is short and its recent operating days have been limited, so it suits a trip that can be scheduled around the daily report rather than booked far ahead.

How much does it cost to go to Ski Apache?

Ski Apache publishes rates that vary by date, age and product, and they change through a season, so this guide does not reproduce a figure that would go stale. Check the resort's own tickets and passes pages for current pricing before booking, and note that lift access and the gondola are sold separately from lessons and rentals.

Sources & photo credits

Official visitor information: Ski Apache information about the Tribe, Ski Apache history, Ski Apache mountain information, Ski Apache frequently asked questions, Ski Apache driving guidance, Ski Apache 2025–26 opening-day announcement, Ski Apache official site, Inn of the Mountain Gods information about the Tribe, Mescalero Apache Tribe 2024 reopening advisory, Village of Ruidoso South Fork Fire information.

Photography via Wikimedia Commons. Images resized and cropped for layout; individual credits and reuse licenses are listed below.

View image sources & credits

Guide details checked . Confirm current conditions before traveling.